Unresolved issues and God

I surprise myself.

It’s Sunday morning and I am already up by 6am. Maybe it’s because my data bundle runs out today and I need to put in a #UgBlogWeek post before it is done. Or maybe I want to send the other girl a good morning text that will send warm fuzzies through her body. Or I want to work on that short story that I started recently. Or maybe I really need to sit down and talk with Him.

I talk a lot in my writing. Sometimes I take a walk up a hill and talk audibly, other times I write in my journal, other times it’s these blogs. Sometimes quiet people have the loudest minds, going over a million things before they become words.

Some years turn out to be an entire season of unresolved conversations with God.

2Co 12:8 For this thing I besought the Lord three times, that it might depart from me.

There seem to be things that tail you everywhere you go.

It’s easy to tell yourself that if God deals with this or deals with that, or takes away this, or gives you that, that you will be a better person, do better things, be a better witness, etc.

It seems that when a person is still unaware of his death with the Lord, he carries with him the mindset of a lost man. A man who needs something to make him full, better, stronger, wiser, quicker, name it.

And many times we forget, at least I forget.

Col 3:3  For you died, and your life has been hidden with Christ in God.

I forget that a sinful man can attempt to become better by going away to a place that will not tempt him. He forgets he goes there with himself. So despite his best attempts, the seed of sin is in him.

It is why someone said this of grace

“If sin is something you perceive yourself to do on occasion, then maybe it is something you need on occasion, but if sin is something you know yourself to be, then grace must be something we live by.”

Paul wrote to Philemon, reminding him – That the communication of thy faith may become effectual by the acknowledging of every good thing which is in you in Christ Jesus.

And these things are not necessarily things in and of themselves, they are Christ Himself being life.

2Co 12:9 And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness.

I have unresolved issues. He doesn’t seem to be under pressure to take them away. He is telling me, is, “I am your constant. When you understand this, nothing is going to phase you. Not restlessness, not lack, not peer pressure, not loss, nothing. When you understand I am your constant, you can get to the place where like Paul you agree and say

Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.”

So as the morning gets going I remember that place he tells us

Php 4:6 Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. Php 4:7 And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

The more important thing is the peace of God. We know who that is, the Prince of Peace. May He keep my heart and your heart and my mind and your mind.

Good morning.

6 comments

  1. “I forget that a sinful man can attempt to become better by going away to a place that will not tempt him. He forgets he goes there with himself.”…this…this

    Like

Leave a Reply

