You could buy me a soda

“A true lover always feels in debt to the one he loves” – Ralph W. Sockman

You could pick up your Samsung
You know,
Scroll gently through the contacts
Slow flow,
Take your time and find my name
Press the call button
And wait for my voice

You could pause a bit,
Stutter intentionally
Before you hear my voice
Wait for my breath to break
And then say hello

You could say you missed me
That I was a painting on your wall all day
And you needed the real thing
You could say you wanted to,
Maybe, buy me a soda.

Nothing fancy like velvet cake
Or strawberry mojito
Just a simple soda
To sip as we talk.

You know I would not say no
And you know what I know
That love is the sower in a garden
And the seeds have fallen on good ground

Ten lepers were healed,
One returned the call
A healer’s heart received
And a healing was complete.

You hang up,
No, you hang up
Meet in ten, for that soda.

10 love one another with brotherly affection; outdo one another in showing honor.

6 comments

Leave a Reply

