Hard to say goodbye.

“You feel like a stranger.”
The first thing she said to me when we were finally alone. After the masks had gone off, when she could finally tell me the truth in confidence; the first thing she told me was that I felt like a stranger.

And she wasn’t lying. We’d become strangers. It had been almost six months since we last spoke in person. And now when finally we had time and space; we no longer had time neither did we have space. She was leaving. She was going away for a year. And she was leaving in three days.

At the time, it hadn’t sunk in yet. Here she was; looking rugged and sporty yet through my lenses all I could see was beauty. The same beauty I’d seen the first time I had laid eyes on her. She had a magnetic look in her eyes. Magnetic yet gentle. I looked away but looked again. I was standing outside the church building, she was in a crowd. It was the first time I saw her, but I believe I had seen her before.

Here she was; the same ageless flower I’d fallen for.

“You chucked me”. She continued to speak.

I was quick to respond: ” I don’t chuck people. So if I didn’t, then perhaps you’re the one who chucked me.” A short silence ensued as we reached the gate to her home. I always wondered about her silence. What did she mean? Concession? Abandon?

I realised she was right. This felt awkward. As we broke the silence with small talk about work, computers and her packing, I felt like I was chatting up a stranger. I couldn’t look her straight in the eye. My arms were crossed one moment and the next in my pocket. I was anxious, nervous.

It wasn’t until the small talk ended that we could speak like we had before. I asked when she knew she was going, and when she was going. When she said she’d known for a while, I asked her why she hadn’t told me. She said she had written a mental note to tell me. I heaved.

I heaved because I knew she might have never told me. It was a friend that had told me. I realised we had grown so far apart. So far apart.

However, some miracle brought us to chat about  closer-to-the-heart issues. I don’t what it was. Some voice in the heart ? I don’t know. When we began chatting, from the heart, I saw her open up like a butterfly. I saw her, the old gem I had always treasured. In a moment, we were in a time portal to the past; the long walks and deep conversations, the writing challenges and the endless texts…

In that blink in eternity, I was no longer a stranger. I could see it in her eyes and her smile.

And then the goodbye. It was almost eleven pm. I wanted to stay longer. I wanted to talk more. I wanted to confess things to her, but it was late. Time had passed me by.

“I guess this is goodbye.” She said.

I tried my best to be a man and be strong.

I hugged her (not long enough as I regret now) and said goodbye. I wished her the best and walked off into the night, back home.

There was no power. I sat down, lantern on the table, thinking through the events of the night: The party to send her off; the conversation with her, the hug she gave me when she had walked in and hugged me, the last hug I gave her. And now in this dim light, I realised I needed her a lot more than I had ever admitted.

I do not know what it was about her but I needed her in my life. And now after six months, I wanted to see her, hold her, walk with her, talk to her. But I couldn’t get that chance. She was leaving in three days.

I was struck with a feeling of loss. A feeling of regret. A feeling of pain. A stream of questions flowed through my mind. None I could answer. Her impending departure began to sink in.

I tried to cover up this feeling but as the immense cadence of my heart revealed – this feeling had never left. And here I am, heart in my throat, tears at the precipice of my eyes as I realise I might not see her again.

I wasn’t ready for this. I hadn’t prepared for this. So every time I think of you, I shiver, because I am not too good with goodbyes to people I truly love.

One comment

  1. Therefore, apply for the money online and take advantage of
    the money you will get to meet up any instant center month issues such as mending car,
    mobile phone bills, forking over medical bills, electric bills and so on Only start with stuffing an online application form and
    also submit this form on the web, as stated earlier

    Like

Leave a Reply

